clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

EFL CUP PREVIEW: Southampton vs. Liverpool 2017: Start time, team news, stats, TV schedule and match thread

New, comments

All the information you need as Southampton host Liverpool in the EFL Cup semi-final at St. Mary's on Wednesday evening.

Sunderland v Liverpool - Premier League Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images

Key Information:

Date/time: 11/01/2017, 19:45 (UK), 14:45 ET, 11:45 PT (USA)

Venue: St. Mary's Stadium, Southampton, UK

Official: TBC

TV: Sky Sports (UK), beIN SPORTS (USA) and check out LiveSoccerTV for alternatives.

Streaming: Sky Go (UK), fuboTV (USA)

Radio: BBC Radio 5 Live (UK)

It's a second cup game in quick succession following Southampton's 2-2 draw away at Norwich City on Saturday in the FA Cup third round.

The ante has been upped for tonight's fixture—with Liverpool paying a visit to St. Mary's in the EFL Cup semi-final first leg.

You'll recall how Saints fared the last time Liverpool rolled into town for the League Cup—it ended in a 6-1 demolition in favour of Jurgen Klopp's men.

Saints boss Claude Puel will not be including club captain Jose Fonte in tonight's side, after his recent transfer request. Meanwhile, there are no fresh injury worries following Saturday's FA Cup clash.

Liverpool's midfield dynamo Philippe Coutinho is set to return against Southampton after nearly seven weeks out with ankle ligament damage. However, Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson is sidelined with a heel injury.

Coutinho's return should be of concern for Southampton fans—St. Mary's is a happy hunting ground for the Brazilian.

Stats Zone:

Liverpool beat Southampton 6-1 at the same venue in the League Cup quarter-finals last season.

Southampton have not reached the League Cup final since a 1979 defeat by Nottingham Forest.

The two sides drew 0-0 at St Mary's in the Premier League when they met in November.

Follow the action with live tweets here (please note, we're not responsible for its content).