clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Key Southampton players enter last year of Southampton contracts

Danny Ings and Jannik Vestergaard are among the names whose contracts expire at the end of the 2021-22 Premier League season.

Southampton, contract expire, 2022, Danny Ings, Jannik Vestergaard, Shane Long, Michael Obafemi, Mario Lemina, Jack Stephens, Fraser Forster, Alex McCarthy, free transfer, signing, Premier League, rumours, news, Saints Photo by Robin Jones/Getty Images

How is it July already? Now that we have entered the seventh month of 2021, a number of notable Southampton players have now entered the final year of their contracts with the club.

The summer transfer window is open and Premier League teams are on the hunt for the kind of players to improve their chances of success in the upcoming 2021-22 season.

Money is tight for a lot of clubs in the top tier of English football thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, so they may look to make some cut-price deals with their fellow Premier League sides for players with time running down on their contracts.

Saints have 11 players who today entered the final year of their agreements with Southampton, including highly sought-after players such as Danny Ings and Jannik Vestergaard.

Ings was extensively linked to several top Premier League sides such as Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur. A number of reports suggested that Leicester City was interested in signing Vestergaard, who is currently representing Denmark at EURO 2020.

In all, Southampton have 11 players in and around the first team who are now in the final year of their contracts.

On top of Vestergaard and Ings, Alex McCarthy, Fraser Forster, Harry Lewis, Jack Stephens, Callum Slattery, Mario Lemina, Shane Long, Michael Obafemi, and Dan N’Lundulu are all in their final year as it stands.

According to Hampshire Live, McCarthy and Stephens are close to agreeing new terms with Southampton.

Here is a full breakdown of all Southampton first-team players and their contracts:


Alex McCarthy (2022)

Fraser Forster (2022)

Harry Lewis (2022)


Jannik Vestergaard (2022)

Jack Stephens (2022)

Mohammed Salisu (2023)

Yan Valery (2023)

Jake Vokins (2024)

Jan Bednarek (2025)

Kyle Walker-Peters (2025)


Callum Slattery (2022)

Mario Lemina (2022)

Nathan Redmond (2023)

Moussa Djenepo (2023)

Oriol Romeu (2023)

Mohamed Elyounoussi (2023)

Nathan Tella (2023)

Ibrahima Diallo (2023)

Stuart Armstrong (2023)

Will Smallbone (2023)

Theo Walcott (2023)

James Ward-Prowse (2025)


Danny Ings (2022)

Shane Long (2022)

Michael Obafemi (2022)

Dan N’Lundulu (2022)

Che Adams (2023)